VIP rakeback

Michael Wang won three Stairway to Millions tournaments

In January of this year, Aria hosted the first championship called Stairway to Millions. It was a series of tournaments with ever-increasing buy-ins, with the best players getting seats in the next tournament for free. The last tournament with the highest buy-in was then won by Canadian Nick Petrangelo. The second season of Stairway to Millions is underway right now with more tournaments.

Michael Wang won three Stairway to Millions tournaments 1

In two seasons, American Michael Wang won three Stairway to Millions tournaments. Moreover, he managed to become the winner in two events in a row. The American player won his first tournament of the series in January. Wang came first in a $15,800 buy-in major event, earning him $219,300 in prize money.
The current series began on September 8 at the Venetian and will last until the 20th. Michael Wang started his winning path with event number 5: $1640 NLH. 73 entries were registered in this event, and notable players include Maria Konnikova, Victoria Livshits and Ryan Laplante, who finished third and earned 9340 USD. In heads-up, Wang was stronger than Mikael Andersen and received 22,986 USD. Andersen earned 14,355 USD.
The sixth event of the series had the same buy-in as the previous one, only there were slightly more entries – 75. At the final table, Wang was opposed by such players as Stephen Song, Kenny Huyn and Brett Kennedy. Heads-up, Wang played against Freddie Keller, who had nearly five times the chips. Despite the huge lead, Keller failed to win and earned $14,044. Van added $22,458 to his bankroll.

With the win, Wang, who earns $4.5 million according to The Hendon Mob, became the first player to win three Stairway to Millions titles. However, he is not the first who was able to win two tournaments in a row. First, such an achievement was submitted to Chance Kornut, who won the 2nd and 3rd events of the first season, and then to Nick Petrangelo. The Canadian won two final events.

The championship will end on September 19

The first event of the series on September 8 was won by Francis Anderson, who received 6702 USD for the victory. It was a no-limit hold’em tournament that cost $460 for everyone to enter, with a prize pool of $37,200. Anderson was close to winning the second event of the championship, but lost heads-up to John Yelani, who took 6417 USD. Anderson is known for taking third place in one of the WSOP events in the summer and earning $449,912, which is his best result in his career.

The third event of the series was won by Indian poker player Arsh Grover. He managed to beat 81 opponents in the 900 USD buy-in tournament and earn 12,510 USD. Event 4 was won by 2020 WSOP Tag Team Champion Sami Diglavi, who earned $11,330. He beat 73 opponents in the 900 USD tournament. All series champions so far:

• Francis Anderson – 6,702 USD.

• John Yelani – 6417 USD

• Arsh Grover – 12 510 USD

• Sami Diglavi — 11,300 USD

• Michael Wang – $22,986

• Michael Wang – $22,458

All the most interesting in the series is yet to come. The buy-in for the upcoming 7th event is 2740 USD. The championship will end on September 19 with a $52,000 buy-in tournament with a $600,000 guarantee.

Other news
Yuri Dzivielevski became the WSOP champion for the third time William Leffingwell became the owner of the bracelet Scott Abrams, Qiang Xu and Harley Brooks became WSOP bracelets owners